

P.O. Box 13231, 1700 N. Congress Ave. Austin, TX 78711-3231, www.twdb.texas.gov Phone (512) 463-7847, Fax (512) 475-2053

September 14, 2021

Dear Regional Water Planning Group Chairs:

As you are likely aware, House Bill 807 from the 86th Texas Legislature directed the Texas Water Development Board (TWDB) to appoint an Interregional Planning Council (Council). The inaugural Council dissolved upon adoption of the 2022 State Water Plan on July 7, 2021. Therefore, the TWDB is now soliciting nominations for the next Council, whose appointment will continue until adoption of the 2027 State Water Plan.

The Council will consist of one member from each Regional Water Planning Group and its sole responsibility will be to provide a report to the TWDB which will be due in March 2024. As a reference, the Council's first report included recommendations on the topics of enhancing interregional coordination, planning water resources for the state, best practices for the future of planning, and addressing interregional conflict. The Council provided specific recommendations to the Legislature, the TWDB, regional water planning groups, and future Councils.

Each planning group should submit nominations consisting of at least <u>one</u> member to serve on the Council, and <u>one</u> alternate for each member nominated. **Nominations should be submitted no later than February 28, 2022.** The Board anticipates Council appointments to occur in April 2022. It is important to note that due funding and staffing limitations, TWDB anticipates providing the Council with a limited level of facilitation assistance for this planning cycle.

Nominations should be submitted to Sarah Backhouse, Regional Water Planning Manager. For each nominee, please include the interest category the individual represents, committee membership (if applicable), a brief background statement including time served on the planning group, contact information (email, phone number, and mailing address), and any other supporting information deemed relevant by the planning group.

Thank you for your participation in the regional water planning process. For additional information, contact Sarah Backhouse at <u>Sarah.Backhouse@twdb.texas.gov</u> or at (512) 936-2387.

Sincerely,

Jeff Walker Executive Administrator

cc: Designated Political Subdivisions for RWPGs

Our Mission

Leading the state's efforts in ensuring a secure water future for Texas and its citizens

Brooke T. Paup, Chairwoman | Kathleen Jackson, Board Member Jeff Walker, Executive Administrator

Board Members